150 candidates in poll fray in KAAC elections

From our Correspondent

HOWRAGHAT, Dec 25: The nomination papers that have been filed for the 11th KAAC elections by the ruling candidates have concluded on Thursday evening. The scrutiny of the submitted nomination papers has also been completed.

It may be mentioned here that a total of 150 nominations have been declared as valid by the Returning Officer at Diphu on Friday. Altogether 2,99,284 male and 2,87,220 female voters will elect 26 candidates from the respective 26 MAC constituencies in the ensuing KAAC elections.

The People’s Alliance for Peace Agreement (PAPA) has filed nominees in 25 constituencies excluding the Langhing MAC constituency for the smooth sailing of the candidate backed by Bodo organization. On the other hand, the ruling Congress party has field contestants for all 26 constituencies. The Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) Liberation will fight in 19 seats, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has also field contenders for 15 seats and newly formed Democratic People’s Front will contest in three places. Fifty-five independent candidates including Congress dissidents, complete the list of nominees of the elections.

It is worth mentioning here that after the final scrutiny, no final signal of ties from the leaders of Bodo and Adivasi organizations which supported Congress as trusted ally since last 15 years, have yet to come in open. On the other hand,  Adivasi leader Ram Sing Munda from Deopani and Samson Surin from Bokajan, both Congress leaders potholed against official Congress candidate, Torendra Bramha in Howraghat against Promola Beypi, wife of Minister Khorsing Engti has deepen predicament for the ruling party.

It will be interesting to perceive that how the Congress will garner support from Bodo and Adivasi communities by passing the community stalwart leader. In another development, senior leader of UPDS Robising Teron, who was denied ticket from PAPA banner, filed nomination from Dhansiri constituency as independent at the last hour.

Foremost candidate who are in the race includes present Chief Executive Member of KAAC Joy Ram Engleng, Sum Ronghang, president of KADCC, Premala Beypi, earlier MLA of Bokajan Jogot Sing Engti, Rajan Timung, CPI (ML) leader Rabi Kumar Phangcho, UPDS leader Robi Sing Teron, senior Adivasi leader Ram Sing Munda, Samson Surin, Executive Member of KAAC Toren Bramha, former BLT leader Sarat Bramha and NCP leader Hidhi Nath Rongpi. The last date for withdrawal of nomination is December 26.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: